Our Researchers

The Glaucoma Research Society of Canada has supported numerous Canadian university-based researchers who have gained international respect and reputations in advancing research into glaucoma and who have published articles in distinguished peer-reviewed journals.

researchers
Researchers Michael Duong and Dr. Alexander Ball
present the results of GRSC research at 2009 ARVO meeting in May.

Our researchers include:

Dr. Paul Artes is Associate Professor and Foundation Scholar in Glaucoma Research in the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences in Halifax.

Aphrodite Dracopoulos is a PhD Candidate in the Glaucoma lab at the Toronto Western Hospital, University Health Network in Toronto.

John Flanagan PhD holds three research grants from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, the premier federal health research funding agency in Canada

Dr. Neeru Gupta is Professor, Ophthalmology & Vision Sciences Laboratory Medicine & Pathobiology, University of Toronto; Director, Glaucoma & Nerve Protection Unit, The Keenan Research Centre, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute, St. Michael’s Hospital.

Dr. Cindy Hutnik is Professor, Departments of Ophthalmology & Pathology, University of Western Ontario; Adjunct Professor, Departmentt of Chemistry & Biochemistry, University of Windsor; Associate Scientist, Centre for Clinical Investigation and Therapeutics, Lawson Health Research Institute, London.

Mark Lesk MSc, MD is a leading Canadian researcher into the effects on glaucoma of blood flow to the eye

Dr. Joanne E. Nash is Associate Professor of Neurobiology at the University of Toronto where she began her independent research career in 2005.

Dr. Neil O’Leary’s current post-doctoral fellowship at the Ophthalmology Department at Dalhousie University has involved devising statistical methods for clinical data analysis and interpreting these for non-technically trained clinicians.

Kenneth Olsen is a PhD student in the Institute of Medical Sciences at the University of Toronto.

Dr. Sunil K. Parapuram was appointed an independent research associate with the department of Ophthalmology at the University of Western Ontario in 2008 and has recently been promoted as a faculty member.

Dr. Jeremy Sivak was recently appointed to the Glaucoma Research Chair at the Toronto Western Hospital Research Institute, and is Assistant Professor at the University of Toronto.

Yeni Yücel MD, PhD, a neuropathologist, is a leading multidisciplinary researcher into the effects of glaucoma on the brain.

Read about some of the researchers who currently received grants from the Glaucoma Research Society

Research Grant Applications

Researchers into glaucoma from across Canada apply annually for funding. Independent peers review the applications under the guidance of the Scientific Advisory Committee of renowned ophthalmologists and scientists from across the country. The Committee makes funding recommendations to the Society’s Board of Directors.

Applying for a Grant

Nos chercheurs

La Société canadienne de recherche sur le glaucome appuie de nombreux chercheurs œuvrant dans les universités canadiennes; pour la plupart, ils bénéficient d’une renommée internationale en matière de recherche sur le glaucome et ils ont publié de nombreux articles dans des revues éminentes sur le sujet.

researchers
Le chercheur Michael Duong et le Dr Alexander Ball
présentent les résultats de la recherche subventionnée par la SCRG à l’ARVO 2009 qui a eu lieu en mai.

Nos chercheurs

Paul Artes, Ph. D., est professeur agrégé et Foundation Scholar en recherche sur le glaucome au Département d'ophtalmologie et de visiologie de l'Université Dalhousie, à Halifax.

Aphrodite Dracopoulos est candidate au doctorat au laboratoire de glaucome à l'hôpital Toronto Western, une filiale du réseau universitaire de la santé.

John Flanagan, Ph. D. bénéficie de trois subventions de recherche des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada, organisme fédéral de financement appuyant la recherche médicale au Canada.

Neeru Gupta, Ph. D., est professeure au Département d'ophtalmologie et de visiologie et au laboratoire de médecine et de pathobiologie de l'Université de Toronto. Elle est également directrice à la Glaucoma & Nerve Protection Unit du Keenan Research Centre du Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute, à l'hôpital St. Michael’s.

Cindy Hutnik, Ph. D., est professeure au Département d’ophtalmologie et de pathologie de l’Université de Western Ontario, professeure auxiliaire au Département de chimie et de biochimie de l’Université de Windsor et chercheuse associée au Centre de recherche clinique et de thérapeutique du Lawson Health Research Institute, à London.

Mark Lesk MSc, M.D. chercheur émérite au Canada, étudie les effets du glaucome sur le débit sanguin vers l’œil.

Joanne E. Nash, Ph. D., est professeure associée en neurobiologie à l’Université de Toronto, où elle a amorcé ses recherches indépendantes en 2005.

Neil O’Leary, Ph. D., est actuellement titulaire d’une bourse de recherche postdoctorale au Département d’ophtalmologie de l’Université Dalhousie. Il a entre autres mis au point des méthodes statistiques d'analyse des données cliniques pour les cliniciens n'ayant pas reçu de formation technique.

Kenneth Olsen est un doctorant à l’institut des sciences médicales de l’Université de Toronto.

Sunil K. Parapuram, Ph. D., a été nommé chercheur associé indépendant au Département d'ophtalmologie de l'Université de Western Ontario en 2008, où il a récemment devenu membre du corps professoral.

Jeremy Sivak, Ph. D., a récemment été nommé à la Chaire de recherche sur le glaucome de l'institut de recherche de l'hôpital Toronto Western. Il est également chargé de cours à l'Université de Toronto.

Yeni Yücel M.D., Ph. D., neuropathologiste et chercheur de pointe pluridisciplinaire, examine les liens entre le glaucome sur le cerveau.

Vous voulez en apprendre davantage sur les chercheurs que la Société canadienne de recherche sur le glaucome appuie actuellement? Suivez ces hyperliens.

Demande de subvention de recherche

Les chercheurs canadiens qui se penchent sur le glaucome doivent faire une demande de subvention chaque année. Des pairs indépendants examinent l’ensemble de ces demandes sous l’impulsion du Comité consultatif scientifique constitué d’ophtalmologistes et de scientifiques renommés provenant de partout au pays. Ce comité ad hoc formule ensuite ses recommandations au Conseil d’administration de la SCRG.

Faire une demande de subvention