Our Researchers

The Glaucoma Research Society of Canada has supported numerous Canadian university-based researchers who have gained international respect and reputations in advancing research into glaucoma and who have published articles in distinguished peer-reviewed journals.

Researchers Michael Duong and Dr. Alexander Ball
present the results of GRSC research at 2009 ARVO meeting in May.

Our researchers include:

Dr. Paul Artes is Associate Professor and Foundation Scholar in Glaucoma Research in the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences in Halifax.

Aphrodite Dracopoulos is a PhD Candidate in the Glaucoma lab at the Toronto Western Hospital, University Health Network in Toronto.

John Flanagan PhD holds three research grants from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, the premier federal health research funding agency in Canada

Dr. Neeru Gupta is Professor, Ophthalmology & Vision Sciences Laboratory Medicine & Pathobiology, University of Toronto; Director, Glaucoma & Nerve Protection Unit, The Keenan Research Centre, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute, St. Michael’s Hospital.

Dr. Cindy Hutnik is Professor, Departments of Ophthalmology & Pathology, University of Western Ontario; Adjunct Professor, Departmentt of Chemistry & Biochemistry, University of Windsor; Associate Scientist, Centre for Clinical Investigation and Therapeutics, Lawson Health Research Institute, London.

Mark Lesk MSc, MD is a leading Canadian researcher into the effects on glaucoma of blood flow to the eye

Dr. Joanne E. Nash is Associate Professor of Neurobiology at the University of Toronto where she began her independent research career in 2005.

Dr. Neil O’Leary’s current post-doctoral fellowship at the Ophthalmology Department at Dalhousie University has involved devising statistical methods for clinical data analysis and interpreting these for non-technically trained clinicians.

Kenneth Olsen is a PhD student in the Institute of Medical Sciences at the University of Toronto.

Dr. Sunil K. Parapuram was appointed an independent research associate with the department of Ophthalmology at the University of Western Ontario in 2008 and has recently been promoted as a faculty member.

Dr. Jeremy Sivak was recently appointed to the Glaucoma Research Chair at the Toronto Western Hospital Research Institute, and is Assistant Professor at the University of Toronto.

Yeni Yücel MD, PhD, a neuropathologist, is a leading multidisciplinary researcher into the effects of glaucoma on the brain.

Read about some of the researchers who currently received grants from the Glaucoma Research Society

Research Grant Applications

Researchers into glaucoma from across Canada apply annually for funding. Independent peers review the applications under the guidance of the Scientific Advisory Committee of renowned ophthalmologists and scientists from across the country. The Committee makes funding recommendations to the Society’s Board of Directors.

Applying for a Grant